The First National Conference on Advances in Superconductivity was the first of a series of conferences in the field of superconductivity planned to be held biannually in one of the universities or scientific research centers in the country. The goal of these meetings is to bring together groups of researchers in the field of experimental and theoretical superconductivity, to discuss their latest research results. Also, to educate and exert the superconductivity phenomenon among the researchers, scholars, and graduate students in the country as well as to introduce the vast applications of superconductivity in the country’s different industries. We hope that these conferences would lead to more collaboration and convergence among the country’s researchers in solving the important challenges remained in the field of superconductivity, and in particular, high temperature superconductivity. It is only through these sharing of experiences that we can fully benefit from our human resources and facilities, and expect a breakthrough in the superconductivity research and its application in the country.   This conference was organized by the National Centre of Excellence in Complex Systems and Condensed Matter, Department of Physics, Sharif University of Technology in collaboration with the Iran Physics Society, and took place in the Department of Physics of Sharif University of Technology in Tehran during June 30-31, 2008. Besides many sessions for scientific presentations, the poster section attracted the attention of many. At the end of the conference, a panel discussion was organized by the members of the Scientific Committee and Dr. E. Arzi, Head of the Physics Society of Iran, and the importance of the following points was emphasized:   1- Supporting interdisciplinary research.   2- Proposing group research and joint projects in superconductivity.   3- Proposing application oriented projects in superconductivity.   4- Requesting the authorities to support and equip the superconductivity research laboratories.   5- Requesting authorities of the Ministry of Science, Research, and Technology to place the field of superconductivity among the country’s scientific research priorities.   6- Considering the research in the interdisciplinary field of nano-superconductivity.   7- Organizing a superconductivity committee formed in the Iran Physics Society.   8- Organizing group scientific activities such as schools and workshops in superconductivity, and inviting eminent international scientists and Nobel laureates in this field.   9- Presenting undergraduate superconductivity course including the standard BCS theory on a yearly basis.   10- Giving special consideration to research in the field of unconventional superconductivity, with proper investment allocation.   One important event in the conference was the recognition given to young scientists (under 40 years) and the poster presentation. The Scientific Committee gave the Young Researcher Award and Prize in superconductivity to Dr. A. Jafari from Isfahan University of Technology and Dr. M.R. Mohammadizadeh from University of Tehran for their extended scientific activities in the country and research achievement with the international standards. Also, the best poster award was given to Dr. V. Daadmehr, S. Falahati, and S. Saeb from Alzahra University.   The Science Book Exhibition, especially in the field of superconductivity, was another activity of the conference. The Sharif University of Technology Publishing, Iran Atomic Agency Publishing, Sharif Extended Electronic Teaching, Jahan Adib, Kokab Gheshm, Ammeh International, and University Publishing Centre Companies had extensive participation in the exhibition. This exhibition was well received by the conference participants.   The response of the condensed matter physics community to this conference has been excellent. 74 researchers from various universities and research centers presented their contributions as the following: University of Isfahan (10), Sharif University of Technology (6), Alzahra University (6), Islamic Azad University (5), Shahid Chamran University of Ahvaz (4), Basic Sciences Research Institution (3), University of Isfahan (3), University of Urmia (2), Institution for Advanced Studies in Basic Sciences (2), and Kashan University (2) shared contributions, and Ardebili University, Payam Noor University, University of Tabriz, Sabzevar Tarbiat Moallem University, University of Tehran, Khajeh Nasireddin Toosi University of Technology, Ferdousi University, University of Kordestan, University of Kentuky (USA), Communication Research Centre, University of Australia, and University of Yazd, each shared in one contribution. Overall, 24 papers were accepted for the oral and 14 papers for the poster presentations. Finally, in accordance with the standard of the Iranian Physics Research Journal, 25 full papers, of which, 14 in the experiment and 11 in the theory of superconductivity were accepted for publication in the Proceedings. In order to choose each paper, at least two favorable reports were received from the referees.   The organization of this conference was made possible through the financial support of the National Centre of Excellence in Complex Systems and Condensed Matter (Department of Physics, Sharif University of Technology), Magnet Research Laboratory (MRL) (Department of Physics, Sharif University of Technology), Alzahra University, Shahid Chamran University of Ahvaz, University of Kordestan, Abasic Industrial Group, and Payvand Adab Cultural and Educational Institution. Also, its success should be credited to the tireless efforts extended by the Organizing Committee, active students staff, and specially, Dr. M. Bahmanabadi. Here, it is necessary to extend our special thanks to each of them.   The successful organization of this conference can be attributed to the active participation of the researchers, scholars, students, and cooperation and support of many colleagues. This has brought about closer understanding and collaboration among the scientists and also between the active laboratories in this field. We hope that the participants carried with them good experience and memories of their presence in the conference. Many will find themselves in the conference photographs taken during the conference, which are shown in the Proceedings. Surely, this successful experience will be carried out to the future conferences, and we will witness successful organization of the future conferences. The Second National Conference on Advances in Superconductivity (NCAS2) will be organized by Dr. M. Zargar Shoushtari and his colleagues in Shahid Chamran University of Ahvaz during 3-4 Feb., 2010 with the website addresses: www.psi.ir/?ncas2 and www.ncas2.com or email addresses: ncas2@scu.ac.ir and ncas2@psi.ir. We look forward to seeing you all in Ahvaz.       M. Akhavan   N. Nafari   H. Salamati   M. A. Shahzamanian   M. Zargar Shoushtari     Fall 2008

ارتقاء امنیت وب با وف ایرانی